Chakras & Your Health

Chakras are believed to be centers of the body from which a person can collect energy. They are connected to major organs or glands that govern other body parts. According to Tantric tradition, everyone has seven energy centers that serve as junction points between the body and consciousness, or between matter and the mind.


The word chakra is derived from the Sanskrit word meaning wheel. If we were able to see the chakras (as many psychics, in fact, do) we would observe a wheel of energy continuously revolving or rotating. If the chakras are not balanced, or if the energies are blocked, the basic life force will be slowed down. The individual may feel listless, tired, out of sorts, or depressed. A constant balance between the chakras promotes health and a sense of well being.

All About Chakras


The concept of chakras originated in Hindu philosophy. The word chakra is Hindu in origin and translates to wheel or disc. There are seven chakras which correspond to major nerve centers within the body. Each chakra vibrates at a different level; the lower chakras are associated with fundamental emotions and needs while the upper chakras correspond to higher mental and spiritual aspirations. Understanding your chakra system is an excellent way to learn how you receive and lose power in your body and your life.

The Root Chakra (Muladhara) is located at the base of the spine. It corresponds to the  color red, the symbol of a square, the element of earth and the sense of smell. Organs connected to the root chakra include the suprarenal glands, the prostate, kidneys and bladder. Traits and emotions associated with this chakra relate to survival, grounding and stability.
    Mantra - YAM   Keynote - C

2.  The Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana) is located below the navel and corresponds to the colour orange, the symbol of an upturned crescent, the element of water and the sense of taste. Organs related to this chakra include the gonads and the reproductive organs. It is where we develop a sense of self and an awareness of others. It is connected with sexuality and creativity.
Mantra - VAM   Keynote - D

3. The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura) is found slightly above the navel and is associated with the color yellow, the symbol of a descending triangle, the sense of sight and the element of fire. It is located at a point in the body where physical energy is distributed and connects to personal power and self esteem, joy and motivation. It corresponds to the stomach, pancreas, liver and gall bladder. 
Mantra - RAM   Keynote - E

4. The Heart Chakra (Anahata) is located in the center of the chest and corresponds to the colors pink and green. It’s symbol is intertwined descending and ascending triangles and it relates the element of air and the sense of touch. The thymus, heart, liver and lungs are connected to the heart chakra. As the center of compassion, love and harmony, it is the place which connects the lower and higher energies of our being.
Mantra - YAM   Keynote - F

5.  The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha) is located at the throat and is depicted by the symbol of a circle within a descending triangle. It resonates to the color blue, ether and the sense of hearing.
As the center for communication and self-expression, it is connected to speaking one’s truth. It corresponds to the thyroid gland, throat and upper lungs.
Mantra - HAM   Keynote - G

6. The Third Eye Chakra (Ajana) is situated in the middle of the forehead and corresponds to the color indigo, light and the sixth sense. It relates to the pituitary gland, spine, left eye, nose and ears. Known as the seat of intuition, the third eye is related to spiritual mastery, knowingness, perception, wisdom and imagination.
Mantra - SHAM   Keynote - A

7. The Crown Chakra located at the top of the head is depicted with the symbol of the thousand petaled lotus. It corresponds to the color violet and the highest level of consciousness and enlightenment. It integrates the qualities of all the chakras and brings awareness to the spiritual realm.
Mantra - OM   Keynote - B

Each chakra has a unique function and physical symptoms are often indicative of an imbalance within a specific chakra. For example, stiffness or soreness in the neck, sore throats or thyroid issues can be related to an imbalance within the throat chakra. Ways of balancing the chakras include energy healing, meditation, yoga, breath work, reiki and craniosacral therapy. The use of healing stones and crystals can support chakra balancing activities.

Chakra Meditation

Meditation techniques vary but a simple way to get started with a chakra meditation is by focusing and visualizing each specific chakra. Begin at the root chakra and imagine a spinning light connected to the area around the base of your spine….visualize the color red and be open to images or thoughts that arise. If you wish, you can chant the mantra “LAM” to further connect with the energy of the chakra. 

Continue visualizing each chakra as you go up the spine and connect with the color or mantra associated with that chakra. End the meditation at the crown chakra. By continuing this simple meditation, you will become more in tune with your own energy and will be aware of which chakra/chakras may be blocked or unbalanced.

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.